Intersection of Faith and Sex

I came across a very old post by Hugo Schwyzer today.  It’s from 2006, but it’s new to me.  Schwyzer is wrote about “the intersection of faith and sex.”

And this morning, what the heart of the matter seems to be is this: how is human sexuality, both in its transcendent joys and its glorious messy physicalities, a reflection of our relationship with God?  And how can we begin to talk and share more honestly about how our faith is lived out in our fantasies and in our actions, in backseats and bedrooms? 

We Christians do a great job of making the case for “NO!”  But what, exactly, is the true nature of the “YES?”  What does it look like, taste like, feel like? 

This got me to thinking that one of the themes I wanted to explore in my novel Angel was how sexuality and spirituality are linked.  It’s not a theme I am often asked about in interviews.  That my protagonists are both male might be what distracts people. 

Back when I was doing the research for one of my non-fiction books (Broke is Beautiful) I learned that brain researchers have discovered that the same part of the brain is responsible for transcendent and mystical experiences, artistic appreciation and sexuality. 

The wonder of experiencing a beautiful symphony, a rapturous sermon or a lover’s touch all flow from the same source.  It is an experience of the force of life that reaches our emotions before the intellect.

Leave a Reply

