The Cry of a Living Soul: Literary Quote of the Day

“Dear Childe Alfred, The preface is all right. It has your extraordinary quality of being what Shakespeare called unpoliced. Every sentence I write is policed to the last comma; but what you write is the cry of a living soul, with the result that people wonder what is behind my writing and must sometimes doubt– I do myself occasionally–whether there is anything behind it. They know you and love or hate you as the case may be; but they cannot make me out clearly enough for that. I am an invented, histrionic figure, mostly quite impossible; but you are a human being for them.”

-Gorge Bernard Shaw to Lord Alfred Douglas, 1942

Leave a Reply

