Today’s National Poetry Month Poem

To Olive V

When we were Pleasure’s minions, you and I,
When we mocked grief and held disaster cheap,
And shepherded all joys like willing sheep
That love their shepherd; when a passing sigh
Was all the cloud that flecked our April sky,
I floated on an unimagined deep,
I loved you as a tired child loves sleep,
I lived and laughed and loved, and knew not why.

Now have I known the uttermost rose of love;
The years are very long, but love is longer;
I love you so, I have no time to hate
Even those wolves without.  The great winds move
All their dark batteries to our fragile gate:
The world is very strong, but love is stronger.

-Lord Alfred Douglas

Leave a Reply

