The Power of Narrative

I gave some thought to the focus of this blog, what ties its content together and what a regular reader might come to expect here. It is occasionally about the pleasures and pitfalls of the writing life, but more often it is about the stories we tell, the language we use and how they shape the way we see the world and interact with one another.

I am fascinated when I discover cultural blind spots– especially my own– as reflected in the most popular article ever posted here: The Invisible Famine in the Parable of the Prodigal Son.

The Power of Narrative will regularly examine areas where a single story has permeated our culture, whether it be about tortured ballet dancers or  what it means for a story to have a happy end.

It questions assumptions about what it means to be a failure, what we say to women about beauty, the identity categories we maintain, and what we mean when we evoke the notion of “tradition.

I like to look to other cultures and other time periods for what they reveal about things we take for granted.

This blog will examine the words we use, the sometimes icky ways we frame our discussions, and will not be satisfied with an either/or choice when the real question should be in what context?

I will inevitably also include occasional discussions related to whatever book I happen to be working on at the moment or odd subjects that capture my interest. (Lord Alfred Douglas, Adam Ant and David Hallberg for example.)

So this new title does not reflect any narcissistic assertion of my own powerful narrative. (I only wish I were narcissistic in that way, being a narcissist is annoying to other people, but to the narcissist herself I believe it feels pretty darned good.)  It is an expression of my topic and focus– writing, reading, the stories we tell and the powerful impact stories have on our lives.

Leave a Reply

