What Are You Reading? WWW Wednesdays

It’s been a while since I’ve played along with this one from Should Be Reading. It’s WWW Wednesdays.

What are you currently reading?

Foreign Gods

I just started reading Foreign Gods, Inc by Okey Ndibe. I have not gotten too far into it yet, but I was very taken with the opening chapter that sets up the premise. The protagonist, Ike, is planning on stealing a statue of his tribe’s god to sell to a New York gallery owner.

What did you recently finish reading?

430539

I just finished The Real Trial of Oscar Wilde edited by Merlin Holland. Part of my on-going Oscar Wilde research. It is the transcript of Wilde’s libel trial against the Marquess of Queensberry.

Oscar Wilde quote from the trial: “I say if a book is well written, that is if a work of art is beautiful, the impression that it produces is a sense of beauty, which is the very highest sense that I think human beings are capable of. If it is a badly made work of art, whether it be a statue or whether it be a book, it produces a sense of disgust; that is all.”

What do you think you’ll read next?

I have no idea.

Leave a Reply

