Michigan Author Feature: Lisa Caretti

c8bd9201e1300ad8956ea7.L._V373418972_SX200_Tell me a little about yourself.

I am a wife, mother of three, author and the founder of a non-profit organization called The Healing Nest which offers free services to women undergoing cancer treatments.

What was the inspiration for Whistle in the Dark?

I love suspense and plots that twist and turn, keeping you up at night.
What inspired you to become a writer?
I was reading an interview with Sidney Sheldon once and suddenly I thought I want to write a book! So the next day I purchased a book on how to write a book. The rest shall we say is history. I can’t stop writing now.

Did you have any special mentors or teachers who helped you along the way?

book_20coverWhen I was writing Whistle in the Dark, I would send over each completed chapter to my friend Sharon who was eagerly waiting. She was totally engrossed in the story and prompted me to hurry! What is your process as a writer? Some writers outline their work first and while I think that is really the most sensible way to write a book, I sit at the computer and write what comes to mind instead. It is almost like the entire story is up there in my brain and I must sit down each day with my fingers on the keyboard and wait to see what will be revealed. I am often surprised at some of the turn of events in the story. I remember saying to my friend once when we were discussing one of the chapters, wow; I didn’t know that was going to happen today.

What do you find most challenging and most rewarding about a writing career?
The most challenging thing about writing is having to wake up very early each day in order to have a little quiet time but having someone tell me that they stayed up all night because they could not put my book down makes it all worth it.

Do you have any new books in the pipeline?

Yes, my next book The Last to Know is in the editing stages right now.

You can read more about Lisa Caretti on her official author site.

Leave a Reply

