Quote of the Day: Riding Out the Lows

At some point, every musician grapples with whether they’re going to pursue it as a profession, or do something else to make a living. Some musicians absolutely feel that there’s no other road for them. And then there are other people, like me, who could have gone into music, but I didn’t feel like I deserved to. And what I mean by that is I wasn’t willing to suffer for my art. You have to have the conviction, that you can ride out the lows, to be a really successful musician.At some point, every musician grapples with whether they’re going to pursue it as a profession, or do something else to make a living. Some musicians absolutely feel that there’s no other road for them. And then there are other people, like me, who could have gone into music, but I didn’t feel like I deserved to. And what I mean by that is I wasn’t willing to suffer for my art. You have to have the conviction, that you can ride out the lows, to be a really successful musician.

-Dr. Charles Limb from an interview in Ability Magazine, but I found it quoted on Open Culture in an article called This is Your Brain on Jazz Improvisation

Leave a Reply

