Quote of the Day: With No Audience I was Just There…

“I did examine myself,” he said. “Solitude did increase my perception. But here’s the tricky thing—when I applied my increased perception to myself, I lost my identity. With no audience, no one to perform for, I was just there. There was no need to define myself; I became irrelevant. The moon was the minute hand, the seasons the hour hand. I didn’t even have a name. I never felt lonely. To put it romantically: I was completely free.”-Christopher Thomas Knight, who lived as a hermit in the Maine woods for 27 years, quoted in The Strange Tale of the Last True Hermit.

2 comments

  1. That’s beautiful. Sadly, for me, it is only in looking back from a bit further down the road that I see the beauty in it – far too late to spend twenty-seven years as a hermit. Having lived in New England during the mid-1980s, I have often thought Maine would be a wonderful place to retire. Just a little cabin, and if it snowed I could let it snow without worrying about taking it away. It has seemed to me that would be a life far more in tune with nature and her rhythms.

Leave a Reply

