“Dawn Crush Thing” Defined

I am working on a book on foreign phrases used in English on a short deadline, and will probably not be as prolific a blogger in the next few weeks. Today I found myself watching a clip that seemed to be directly on point with my previous post about computerized translation. (I got to it via this route–search on etymology of the word “bongo”—got distracted by a Youtube video of Desi Arnaz playing “Babalu”– which led me to this.)

I have come up with a definition of “dawn crush thing” a phrase coined by the actor Lucas Ferraro at least according to Youtube’s autotranslation engine. “Dawn crush thing” n. a flawed translation, as when you let a computer do it for you or when someone who is fluent in two languages forgets which language he should be using with whom.

Leave a Reply

