Invisible Man: The Inner Self Revealed

We’re less than a week away from Halloween! If you had to design a costume that channeled your true, innermost self, what would that costume look like? Would you dare to wear it?

This is today’s writing prompt posted by The Daily Post.

formal-tuxedo-skin-suitThe more I go looking for the deep inner self the more it seems to un-self and so the costume that channeled the depths inside would be the invisible man.

It might be better to say it would not be a human figure at all, but a house of mirrors. But that would be a difficult costume to pull off.

When Rene Descartes pondered the question of what he could know of reality he concluded that all he could know for sure was that there was some essence posing the question. “I think, therefore I am.”

Thus the scientific name for man: homo sapiens sapiens. The man who knows that he knows or the man who thinks he thinks.

Indeed, thinking feels like something I do. It is not like feeling. I would not say “I feel, therefore I am” because I do not have a sense of causing my emotions. Emotions happen to me and I respond to them.

Maybe though thoughts are the same. There is not an I who willfully thinks them. There are thoughts and some mechanism for observing their appearance.

Obseruo ergo sum.

“We create ourselves by inference: automatically and irresistibly,” wrote Paul Broks in Into the Silent Land. “In doing so we ride the rails of the deepest human convention, but, at root, it is just that: a convention. The self is not an intrinsic feature of the brain and it is possible to become derailed– through psychosis, like the man with the fish n his head, or as a result of brain damage. The degradation of personality is a neurological commonplace.”

Although it feels as though there is a ghost in the machine, this may be the illusion upon which all others are heaped.

The costume that would reveal my deep inner self would be an invisible man in a house of mirrors.

Leave a Reply

